NLD Projects Multiple Wins in Mon State

Monday, November 9, 2020

Citing preliminary election results, the National League for Democracy (NLD) is claiming victory in five Mon State townships after Sunday’s vote.

Official results from Burma’s general election had yet to be released by the Union Election Commission at the time of reporting; the following data was provided by party spokespeople and is based on initial local vote counts.

Chairperson for the NLD in Mon State Dr. Khin Saung projected NLD victories in Mawlamyine, Chaungzon, Belin, Kyaikhto and Paung townships, saying that other townships had not yet reported their voting numbers.

“We won in all constituencies in four townships in Thaton District as well as in all of the constituencies in Mawlamyine Township,” Dr. Khin Saung told NMG of how his party appeared to have performed, referring to seats in the Upper and Lower House and the state legislature.

The Mon Unity Party (MUP) is also claiming to have won a Mon State parliament seat in Chaungzon. They have projected five wins in Ye Township, and one each in Thanbyuzayat, Mudon, and Kyaikmayaw townships

“We won nine seats in Mon State,” MUP spokesperson Nai Layae Tama said of the party’s projected victories, adding that initial reports had not yet come in from Karen State, where the MUP was also running.

Further information about the results of the race for ethnic affairs ministers in Mon State has not yet been released.

The parties that ran in Burma’s November 8 general election in Mon State included the NLD, MUP, Union Solidarity and Development Party, United Nationalities Democratic Party, Union Betterment Party, People’s Pioneer Party, Democratic Party for National Politics, Pa-O National Organization, Karen People’s Party, Bamar People’s Party, People’s Party, and the ’88 Generation’ Democracy Party.