NLD Wins Three-Quarters of Mon State Electoral Races, According to Initial Reports

Tuesday, November 10, 2020

According to preliminary results, the Mon Unity Party (MUP) won 11 races in Mon State in Burma’s general election on November 8, with the National League for Democracy (NLD) winning 34.

There were a total of 45 posts in Mon State up for election in Sunday’s polls, including 10 Lower House seats, 12 Upper House seats, 20 state parliament seats, and Bamar, Karen and Pa-O ethnic affairs minister positions.

While the Union Election Commission will make the official announcement regarding electoral victories, local election commissions are announcing the results of their initial vote tallies.

The NLD won in 15 of Mawlamyine District’s 26 constituencies, and the MUP won in 11, according to Htin Kyaw, secretary of the district’s election commission told NMG.

The NLD also appears to have won all 16 races in Thaton District, and the party’s candidates secured all three ethnic affairs ministerial posts.

The MUP’s winning seats in Mawlamyine District include two in the Lower House, three in the Upper House and six in the state parliament.

The NLD ran for election in all 45 of Mon State’s races, while the MUP ran in 35.

In the 2015 general election, the NLD won 40 seats in Mon State, and two ethnic Mon parties won four seats, and the Union Solidarity and Development Party won one seat.

Mon State is home to two districts: Mawlamyine and Thaton, each with six and four townships, respectively.