CRPH Appoints Temporary Ministers Until Democracy Is Restored

By Network Media Group
Thursday, March 4, 2021

The Committee Representing Pyidaungsu Hluttaw (CRPH) appointed temporary Union ministers tasked with running duties of the democratically elected government until its restoration.

Lawmakers elected in the 2020 election formed CRPH after the military regime staged a coup, seizing power from the National League for Democracy on February 1.

Since Burma’s legitimate government, led by President Win Myint and State Counselor Aung San Suu Kyi, cannot fulfill their duties after their arrests by the military, ministers were chosen to serve in the intern, according to a statement by CRPH.

Zin Mar Aung was appointed head of Foreign Affairs, Lwin Ko Latt will run the President’s Office and Tin Tun Naing is in charge of Planning, Finance and Industry, Investment and Foreign Relations, as well as Commerce ministries. Dr Zaw Wai Soe is handling Labor, Immigration and Population, Education, as well as Health and Sports ministries.

In the statement, CRPH called the junta’s State Administration Council (SAC) a “terrorist” organization for committing numerous human rights violations since its formation, including arbitrary arrests, beatings and killings on individuals and groups who joined the Civil Disobedience Movement and protests across the country.

According to CRPH, SAC intentionally released thousands of criminals to undermine stability and rule of law in Burma.

After seizing power during a coup on February 1, the military arrested the president, state counselor and many others, declaring that the elected government was dissolved.

Last month, CRPH appointed Dr Sasa as Burma’s Special Envoy to United Nations and Htin Lin Aung as Foreign Relations representative.